Glamorous Indie Rock & Roll

Mike Posner CMJ

I walked into SOB’s late last Thursday night to a severe heat wave and the lingering stench of stale pot – with the biggest smile on my face. Why the smile? Three letters: C M J. For those of you who may not know what that is (NO it’s not the initials of some boy I was after) it’s a masterfully crafted, beautifully executed and sonically addicting Music Marathon & Film Festival; 5 jam-packed days filled with great new music at venues around NYC and Brooklyn.

After eagerly accepting an invitation to my first CMJ event of the week (thanks Adam!) I couldn’t wait to hear what I was in for.  We made it just in time to see Big Sean and Mike Posner take the stage – although a short set, it was nothing, well, short of awesome.  Big Sean and Mike both had the crowd going wild and had a very appealing stage presence that made you not able to turn away. Right after leaving, I wanted more … a lot more.

The next day I fumbled through my schedule, cross referencing it with the 100s of CMJ showcases taking place in only the next 2 days; and boom … you know that feeling when there should be a light shining down from above and angelic voices singing? – yeah, this was one of those moments. Everything about it was perfect; Pianos, 13 bands (all with completely different sounds), 2 stages and best of all free.  Although this show was technically put on by Brooklyn Vegan & Bowery Presents it inter-mingled with the CMJ lineup.  Anyway, I grabbed my friend Greg and we made the day happen.

Our #1 pick? LOCAL NATIVES, by far.  A 5 member band with soothing voices and sick, sick, sick drum beats. They have that indie feel with some good ol’ classic rock sounds thrown in (even covering “Warning Sign” by Talking Heads). Their live show was incomparable to even any big show I’ve seen in a while – it could have been that I was standing 3 feet from the stage, maybe it was the tight knit crowd or that I had no where to be but there for the next 5 hours … I’ll take D. All of the above.  They had me, and the rest of the crowd, rocking pretty damn hard for 3:30pm.

So hard, in fact, that when they announced they were playing an acoustic set an hour from then at The Delancey, Greg and I couldn’t help our selves; we had to go. My recommendation: listen to them – you will instantly be demanding a show near you. Here are some photos I took and 1 clear video from Pianos & 1 dark video from The Delancey (good for listening):

Local Natives @ Pianos 10.24.09

Local Natives @ Pianos 10.24.09

Local Natives @ Pianos 10.24.09

Local Natives @ Pianos 10.24.09

Local Natives @ Pianos 10.24.09

Local Natives @ Pianos 10.24.09

Local Natives Acoustic Set @ The Delancey 10.24.09

Local Natives Acoustic Set @ The Delancey 10.24.09

Local Natives Acoustic Set @ The Delancey 10.24.09

Local Natives Acoustic Set @ The Delancey 10.24.09

Local Natives Acoustic Set @ The Delancey 10.24.09

Local Natives Acoustic Set @ The Delancey

Still Life Still @ Pianos 10.24.09

Still Life Still @ Pianos 10.24.09

Still Life Still @ Pianos 10.24.09

Still Life Still @ Pianos 10.24.09

Oh and for lack of having any self-control when it comes to sharing music: The Moondoggies played before Local Natives – check ‘em! Great live sound.

*All photos made possible by Brittany Hayes Jesser – getting a new digi tomorrow.

—-

“Glamorous indie rock and roll is what I want, it’s in my soul. (‘Glamorous Indie Rock & Roll’ by The Killers)

—-

posted by: Keegan Vance Forte at 5:09pm on Monday, Oct 26, 2009

0 Responses to “Glamorous Indie Rock & Roll”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

