Parade of the Punk Rock T-Shirts

cartel-cycles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Skinny jeans; check. Black leather boots; check. Peace sign scarf; check. Cliché? Check.

It was one of those nights, where I had to morph myself from ‘Corporate Keegan’ into ‘Concert Keegan’ in minutes flat – success!

As I pulled up to the Gramercy Theater on East 23rd Street I crossed my fingers and whispered to myself; please be no line, please be no line, please be no line – my prayers were answered.  I hopped out of the cab into the pouring rain then swiftly made my way inside.  It’s an odd venue but I was feeling it.  21+ bracelet; check. Find Katie; check. Bar? Done.

Punk can be hard – especially pop/punk.  For some it may be hard to tell the difference between bands. For others – hard to get past the first single … and then there are those who just find it hard to like at all.  I, personally, love it.  Remember this blog is to tell you what I like and what you might like – not what you should like. Cartel is one of those easy listens.  I was immediately drawn to the lead singer’s voice and I’ve always loved the way they break things down at the end of their songs.  Like most punk bands, some of their songs do seem to mesh together with similar sounds but last night’s live performance pushed Cartel up about 10 notches on my rating scale (side note: this scale is imaginary).

My anticipation of the size of the crowd was way over-balled, as you can see from my dialogue with myself earlier in the night. The set-list (in my mind) left a bit to be desired; I realized about 3 big songs that weren’t played (“Wasted – “Wonderwall (Oasis Cover)” – & my favorite “Tonight”). But the songs that they did play, they nailed.

Please don’t get me wrong, I love them and I will continue to listen and support them. All in all, and what matters most, is that they sounded fantastic and that they had the crowd (of what there was of a crowd) very engaged. I guess, in the end, you have to appreciate them for their talent and hard work … not bash them for lack of ticket sales.

Dancing; check. Singing; check. After party? Done.

Will Pugh of Cartel Live @ Gramercy Theater 10.27.09

Will Pugh of Cartel Live @ Gramercy Theater 10.27.09

Cartel 2

Will Pugh & Jeff Lett of Cartel Live @ Gramercy Theater 10.27.09

Cartel 3

Joseph Pepper of Cartel Live @ Gramercy Theater 10.27.09

Cartel 4

Joseph Pepper & Will Pugh of Cartel Live @ Gramercy Theater 10.27.09

Cartel 5

Katie & Jeff Lett of Cartel @ Angels & Kings Afterparty 10.27.09

Cartel 6

Me & Nic Hudson of Cartel @ Angels & Kings Afterparty 10.27.09

—-

“I think we can fly and swallow fire, blow smoke and hold our breath for as long as it takes.” (‘Parade of the Punk Rock T-Shirts’ by Maritime)

—-

posted by: Keegan Vance Forte at 3:55pm on Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009

0 Responses to “Parade of the Punk Rock T-Shirts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

